Shandiin Flip

My girlie is not a dress or skirt loving girlie. She’s a shorts and top loving little chick. I’m always on the lookout for a new top pattern for her, especially one with a lovely back. When I saw the LouBee Clothing’s Shandiin tops and tunics that my friend Cindy made, I knew it was a must buy for our hot summers. Then the lovely Ashley and Emily from Frances and Suzanne contacted me and asked me to participate in their Flip this Pattern September Showcase (which of course I excitedly accepted) and low and behold the Shandiin was on the list of patterns to flip. Thank you universe!

Layout 2

 

DNO_6196

I first made up the tank in some lovely lawn that has been marinating in the stash since the dawn of time. So cute and cool for our terribly humid summers.

DNO_6198Love that little back. I think it’s the perfect summer outfit when combined with some crisp white Sailboat Pants. The pattern is so very well written with lots of options to make the tank or tunic unique. It has a lovely hem facing, something I always think makes a garment look beautifully finished especially when combined with french seams.

DNO_6195-001

Now for the flipping. I LOVE rompers and am very, very tempted to buy this for myself. It may have been in my shopping cart more than once before I backed away from the computer. Not sure if a wrap jumpsuit is really suitable for school pick up.

DNO_5807

Way back in 2012 I made a romper that Missy loved and wore till it could be worn no more. So I thought I’d have a go at making the Shandiin into a jumpsuit.

DNO_5808

I found and loved this on pinterest. The pants immediately reminded me of the harem pants I made for Missy earlier in the year. So it was a simple job of mashing the two together.

DNO_5811

I made the tank up as per the instructions except for the straps. I just doubled the pattern piece and made the straps into ties so we could get the jumpsuit on and off. I added 1/4′ elastic through the casing (as per one of the pattern options), made the pants up as per usual but left off the waistband and then stitched the pants and top together.

DNO_5813

 

DNO_5822

I used a dove grey linen/cotton blend from the stash and Liberty binding from here. I’m pretty pleased with the result as is Missy.

DNO_5829

Ashley and Emily are running a giveaway in conjunction with their Flip this Pattern Showcase, so pop on over and enter. There’s some awesome goodness and you’ve got til September 20. And Sarah from LouBee Clothing is offering a 20% discount on ALL her patterns with the discount code SHOWCASE20.

I’ve got my eye on the Doli Tank, it’s a top with a nice back after all.

SeptemberShowcaseLOGO300px

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shandiin Flip

  1. Deb says:

    The Shandin top looks fantastic. Perfect choice of fabric (“marinating in the stash” cracked me up.) Love your ‘flipped’ version. Very clever and no doubt it will get worn a great deal.

  2. Sarah says:

    These are both fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing your Shandiins! 😀

  3. Love the first one because of the floaty and pretty fabric! Great flip with the second one.

  4. Frances Suzanne says:

    Oooooh, I had to read your “marinating in the stash” quote aloud to the family as well!! Both versions are TERRIFIC!!

  5. Lovely sewing Peta. The first is beautiful due to your restraint in not adding contrast fabric, keep it simple, make it stunning. And then I love that jumpsuit. Looks like the perfect comfy summer dressing. I’d love to sew something like that and have my daughter wear it. I guess you might feel that way about dresses sometimes…

  6. beachmomof4 says:

    Clever, clever Peta! I love the first top..it’s quite beautiful and pairs perfectly with the Sailboat pants. But that jumpsuit…pure genius!

  7. Nicole says:

    It is gorgeous, I love what you have done here.

  8. Justine says:

    Love both of your versions – the first fabric is just gorgeous, and the playsuit is fab! You just sold me on this pattern…;-)

Leave a Reply

