The Garden Party

So best laid plans not to buy any new patterns until I at least finish my pattern bust have gone out the window. Oliver and S’ new release forced me to break my vow. I was so happy to see the two dresses made up as tunics I went ahead and bought the Garden Party. I love it as a dress but know Missy would prefer it as a top.

DSCN2586

I can see the pattern made up in so many different fabrics in my head but to start with, I decided to go for white hanky linen with some embroidered ribbon that I bought in Hong Kong a couple of years ago. Both fabric and ribbon are from the stash so at least I’ve redeemed myself a little bit.

DSCN2597

I kept the waist band in the linen and added some ribbon to the front yoke and shoulder straps. The idea was to make it look peasanty blousey-ish.

DSCN2616

As with every single O&S pattern I’ve ever made, the design is perfect. The proportions are always so right in Liesl’s patterns. The end result is always such a thrill to see on and the construction itself so well explained.

DSCN2592

She likes it, although I did have to bribe her to pose for photos. Monkey.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Garden Party

  1. Colesworth says:

    Gorgeous girl and outfit ;o)

  2. Nicole says:

    Fabulous, all fabulous!

  3. Justine says:

    This is so pretty Peta – and as usual, gorgeous fabric choices – the ribbon is perfect.
    It is so much fun to sew something that is a bit ‘selfish’, huh? Hope Missy loves it too!

  4. Beautiful Peta!! Classic colors….I bet each piece will get LOTS of wear in the months ahead!

  5. peta s says:

    Thanks ladies. I loved the pattern, it was so nice to sew something that wasn’t a staple and in a fabric that was completely my choice, you’re so right Justine, “selfish” sewing is the way to go.

  6. Katy Morrell says:

    This will be my first sew once I get hold of the new patterns. (totally buying both dresses).
    I love this in white, it is fresh and pretty.

  7. Inder says:

    I just love your choice of fabric and the ribbon here – you achieved your goal – it is a lovely peasant top! Classic but also so summery and bohemian. This may be my favorite version of this dress/top I’ve seen yet! Well done! I totally ordered all of the new patterns, btw. *Duck.* I really need to get sewing on my pattern stash!

  8. Pingback: Hide and Seek | etcetera or whatever

Leave a Reply

