Heavenly Hommus

Our family (except of course the Big Fella who mostly eats air) is addicted to hommus. It’s so very delicious.  I’m not at all fond of the commercial ones available at the supermarket and their list of ingredients concerns me. I like to know what I’m eating and not have things identified by numbers.  A fruit shop close to us is owned by an elderly Lebanese couple who make lots of Middle Eastern goodies including hommus. But at $6 a container, our addiction was costing us a fortune. I use to make my own but got out of the habit. Time to brush off my recipe book. I have to say this recipe tastes sooooo much better than the commercial ones and with only 4 ingredients is majorly easy. You can adjust the amount of garlic and lemon juice to your own taste.

DSCN2476

1 400g tin of chickpeas, drained (preferably with no added salt or sugar)

2 tblsp tahini (make sure it’s 100% seasame, no added oil or salt)

1-2 cloves garlic (depending on how much you like garlic)

Juice of 1-2 lemons (depending on how much you like lemon)

Process all ingredients in a food processor until thoroughly combined.

DSCN2478

Thats it, nothing more. Dairy free, gluten free, sugar free, soy free, number free.

It’s consistency is thick, if you like your hommus runnier you can add a couple of tablespoons of light olive oil. Serve as a dip, in a salad wrap or on celery sticks. Currently I’m making this amount every 3 days, I need a chickpea tree.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

