No, no ,no ,no…..

For Christmas this year we are hosting a breakfast for my side of the family. One of our guest has a few allergies the poor darling.  No gluten, no dairy, no soy and no egg are among the no nos. Whenever we have a breakfast I usually make corn fritters and serve them with an avocado salsa, slow roasted roma tomatoes and bacon (for the meat eaters). They are really, really delicious. My usual recipe includes all but one of the aforementioned no, nos. What to do, what to do????????

I had some gluten free flour in my cupboard and having baked my fair share with said flour, know that it requires a strong binding agent as there is no gluten to do that job. That’s where the eggs should step in, of course there can’t be egg. A quick google search revealed this site with heaps of alternatives to egg for binding gluten free flour. I decided to go with pumpkin puree mainly because I had two pumpkins in the pantry and I couldn’t face the supermarket on the last Saturday before Xmas. I skipped the milk altogether because the puree was pretty wet.

Success! I thought I’d have to try a few different things but no. The test batch were declared even better than the normal ones, I think that’s a good thing.

I’m afraid there’s no photo because they went really really fast. But for those of you catering for allergies this Xmas check out that site for some really interesting info.

 

*Just found out she can’t eat pumpkin. Bloody hell.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No, no ,no ,no…..

  1. Sharon says:

    Thank you for sharing! Our youngest, Caspian has a lot of food allergies himself. I off to check it out!

  2. Oh! I read through all of that thinking how clever you had been to find a solution and then saw your last comment. I feel your pain! Hope you sorted it all out.

Leave a Reply

