Spicey

I’m not very good with eBay. I can never find those treasures that other people find. I have 2 friends who are those treasure finding people. They send me links from time to time, they’re like my own personal eBay shoppers. A while ago one of them sent me a link to some Marimekko-ish fabric.

DSCN2412

I adore Marimekko. I have a huge canvas of Unikko on our family room wall.  At $20 for 2 metres I knew it wasn’t the real deal, but hey, it’s pretty close. So I pressed the buy it now button and in a few days it arrived and then it marinated until the right pattern became apparent.

Enter the Spice Market Tote from Amy Butler. It would have to be the easiest bag I have ever made, and I get the feeling it’s going to be the most used. It’s huge, perfect for all those after school activities that require everything but the kitchen sink.

DSCN2410

The fabric is home dec weight and the lining a canvas, so there was no need to add interfacing, always a bonus.

DSCN2409

I can see it being really useful on our upcoming trip.  Which I am still far from ready for. Only 6 more days and soooo much to do. And I keep getting distracted.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spicey

  1. martha says:

    I love this tote and the fabric is perfect!!! I also love your wooden hippo:))))

  2. Justine says:

    Perfect fabric for you 🙂
    This looks great – I’ve been looking for the perfect tote pattern – off to check this one out…

  3. peta s says:

    It is the perfect tote and believe me I’ve made more than a few over the years.
    I carried that hippo all over Africa in my back pack, even threw out some clothes so he could fit. Now he spends his days as a door stop.

  4. Nicole says:

    What a great story. You have a lovely home and beautiful things.

  5. peta s says:

    Oh you are lovely Nicole xx

Leave a Reply

