Bunting mania

Chappy has two wonderful teachers. One works 3 days a week the other 2 days. They are a fantastic team and the class really benefit from having 2 passionate educators. In a past life I use to teach the son of one of them and have known her for about 7 years or so. She came to me the other day to say the other teacher was retiring and that she wanted to give her something from the whole class but was at a loss as to what. It had to be meaningful, that they all contributed to but also something that wasn’t naff and something that she would actually use (and hopefully like). “Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm” was my reply.

To cut a long story short, I came up with idea of a recipe book with a contribution from each family using http://www.blurb.com/ Luckily for us one of the parents is a professional photographer and she agreed to take portraits of the children which look incredible. Each child has a double page spread with a photograph, recipe, message from the parents and a drawing of Mrs Dawes. The drawings were of her doing something in her retirement. They were so sweet, there were drawings of her travelling to different places, playing sport, having a picnic and my favourite, meditating under a rainbow. Cause that’s what you do when you’re retired…

2013-11-08 09.19.22

I spent quite a few nights putting it all together and pulling my hair out with all the decisions that had to be made. What font, what font size, which photo, which quote blah blah freaking blah. When I pressed send, a huge weight lifted from my shoulders. It hasn’t arrived back yet but I’m hoping it all looks amazing. Not sure what I’ll do if it’s crap with heaps of spelling mistakes.

Fullscreen capture 17112013 83621 PM

The other idea was to make some Christmas bunting. I cut a calico flag for each child to draw a Christmas picture on and then interspersed them with some colourful Christmas fabric.

DSCN2394

I took the lazy option and just used a pinking rotary cutter to cut the flags, there were 50 something flags in total people, no way I was going to sew them all. I already have a quilting triangle, (is that what they’re called?) so it took about 10 mins to cut all the flags. Robin (the teacher who is not retiring) loved it so much I thought I’d better make her some but with calico flags for her own family to draw on.

DSCN2392

And then I thought I’d better make us some too but in red and white to match the advent calendar I made a few years ago. After all it’s majorly simple. The hardest part is making the binding and I even cheated with that because I am one lazy cow. I cut it across the grain. Does everyone else burn their fingers when they make binding?

DSCN2398

I’m bunted out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bunting mania

  1. Love that book. What a great idea.

  2. Nicole says:

    The book is wonderful. I know how much work you put into it.

Leave a Reply

