And so it begins

It’s that time of year. The gear up to Christmas. This year is somewhat shorter for me as we are off to NZ in a few weeks for a few weeks. So Christmas presents need to be organised by the end of November, bloody hell that’s like only 2 and a 1/2 weeks away!

DSCN2372

As always I’ve made the children’s teachers a bag each (always seems like a good idea until I make a start and then I think, why the hell didn’t I just get a bulk deal on some soap?). I usually make a Birdie Sling but over the years have made over 20 of the things and really can’t face another. There are just so many pieces and so much interfacing…… I can’t, I just can’t do it.

DSCN2373

I came across Elizabeth Hartman’s Margaret Bag years ago, (sadly I couldn’t find a link and think it’s no longer available). I promptly printed it off all that time ago, filed it away and forgot about it. How lucky for me that I did because it jumped out at me, waving its little arms and screaming pick me, pick me as I searched for the perfect bag for the perfect teachers.

DSCN2374

It’s an awesome little number. Lovely size, cute details and sits nicely on sloping shoulders. Not that those fabulous ladies have sloping shoulders, but if they did, the bag would sit nicely on them. I’m sure it sits nicely on non sloping shoulders too.

The kids chose the fabrics for their particular teacher, thinking hard about their favourite colours and what each one liked.

DSCN2375

Hope they like them and don’t think, “What’s this dodgy thing? Why didn’t she just get me some soap?”

DSCN2376

Fabric:

1.Spring House by Stephanie Ryan for Moda and a green spot for the lining.

2. Amy Butler’s Cameo Tea Rose in Scarlet and a green no name spot for the lining.

3. Laura Gunn’s Garden Wall Gypsy Vine in Olive for the exterior and Porcelain for the  lining.

4. Patty Young’s Grand Bazaar Turkish Garden in Midnight for the exterior and Sun Dot in turquoise for the lining

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And so it begins

  1. Justine says:

    These are all fabulous – you are so generous
    Pity about the pattern though – it looks a good one!

  2. Martha says:

    Oh these are wonderful!! Such a sweet gift:)))

  3. Nicole says:

    I would be thrilled to receive a special bag, you are a wonder! Due to camp sewing our lovely teachers are just getting choccies I am afraid.

  4. Cindy says:

    The bags are lovely! I’m sure they will be appreciated.:)

Leave a Reply

