Still relaxing…

DSCN1983

Now let me make this clear, I don’t want you to get the wrong idea. I do not get to have a little child free getaway every weekend. Not even every year, well maybe once a year. It just so happens that some girlfriends and I organised a girls’ weekend ages ago and it happened to be set for the weekend after my Sunshine Coast getaway  (I know, freaking excellent planning and no I am not being sarcastic.)

DSCN2023

Destination North Stradbroke Island, Straddie to all who live in my town. An amazing sand island just a 45 mins barge ride across Moreton Bay. When I say amazing, I mean amazing. The scenery is breath taking with wild rocky outcrops and crystal clear turquoise water.

DSCN1978

During our short walk around the north point of the island we stood and watched a huge pod of dolphins jumping through the waves close to the shore. Whilst standing there, enjoying their antics, a little further out, 3 humpback whales started breaching and tail slapping. Further on the walk 3 enormous manta rays were cruising by the rocky outcrops and sea turtles dived and surfaced hunting for jellyfish and other delicious treats. I wish I had better adjectives but all I can come up with is amazing. Is ahhhhmazing a word?

DSCN1982

Straddie is pretty popular during school holidays but never gets really crazy busy. There are always deserted beaches and places to get away from everyone if you want to.

DSCN2003

Lots of laughing, lots of sleeping, lots of eating and not much of anything else. I could seriously get use to this way of life.

DSCN2020

I don’t want to ruin the illusion you have of me as one classy chick but I do think a picture of our fridge is worthy of posting.

DSCN1940

Sad thing is, only 6 bottles were drunk and we were all tucked up in our beds by 11.30pm each night and awake before 6am. How times have changed…. we are still way cool.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Still relaxing…

  1. Deb says:

    Cheese, booze…. sounds like you had the perfect get away weekend in (judging by your photos) Paradise!
    (What’s that pink stuff? Shampoo? 🙂 )

  2. Sarah says:

    Way cool in my book! Sounds like my kind of weekend!

  3. Nicole says:

    May I come next time?
    I will do the dishes.

Leave a Reply

