Get me to the beach…

Yesterday it was 35C. Not uncommon here in summer. But it’s not summer. It’s nowhere near summer. It’s only the 12th day of spring.  I admit I love the heat but if this is what it is like in September, I’m not looking forward to December. Today the temperature is in the mid 30s again, I’ve been dreaming all day of heading down the coast this weekend.

005

I am loving the MIP Long Board pattern, so much so that today I whipped out 3 pairs in less than 3 hours. All for Chappy. Being the 2nd boy he gets a lot of hand me downs, so it’s nice to make him something just for him. He also really loves what I make for him, (he’s my favourite…maybe).  When I met him after school today he asked “Did you make me those shorts you said you were going to make?” Bless him.

013

008

019

I think they make perfect shorts for the beach. Large front pockets to fill with shells and an ultra comfy rib knit waistband with wide elastic.

004

003

I’d love to be going to the beach this weekend, instead I have been roped into this http://www.thestampede.com.au/ Sooo looking forward to it. About as much as sticking a knife through my temple.

All fabric from Spotlight, green one is a Prints Charming drill and the other two are cotton duck.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Get me to the beach…

  1. lattemama says:

    These are great! He looks so happy with them too. And your top stitching is impeccable!

  2. Justine says:

    Totally love all of these 🙂 – really must bust this pattern for this summer…
    It was 34 here on Tuesday too – and I too am very worried about summer!
    May I ask – how/why did you get roped into that?! As a competitor?

  3. Sharon says:

    These are all so great! The stitching is perfect and I love he little side tags. I just checked out the pattern, these are on my next summer sewing list for my older boys.

  4. Sarah says:

    The shorts are fabulous. And you’ll be fabulous as a competitor! Good luck and I can’t wait to hear all about it…maybe you’ll post some pictures too?

    • peta s says:

      hmmmm I’m trying to come up with excuses not to go. The boys are running a 2km one in the afternoon, bless them. Missy is desperate to do it but is too little. Wish I was only 5.

  5. Jennifer says:

    That’s it! I’m buying this pattern and going to spotlight to get ribbing and some of this cool fabric.

  6. Wow, send me some warmth please. Great shorts. Tell me you didn’t paint the Darth on the chopper bike onto that T-Shirt, did you? It’s awesome.

  7. Katy says:

    These make me wish I had a boy to sew for! I love all of them!

  8. Brittney says:

    Your boy sewing always inspires me so much. Those shorts look comfy and your stitching is impeccable!

  9. beachmomof4 says:

    Another great round of boy shorts! I love the funky prints that use for them.:) I so wish I had found the MIP Long Board pattern before Patrick was too big.

  10. Ana Sofia says:

    Your boy’s sewing is just as amazing – these shorts are so cool (no wonder he loves them!)
    Fall is finally approaching, but I’m guessing the sun won’t be leaving us soon as well (we’ve been getting between 30ºC and 40ºC since end-of May. Enough already, but I’m sure I will miss it in a few months!)

  11. Toni Coward says:

    these are super! great use of the pattern – thanks for sharing 🙂
    especially love the glasses fabric, very cool!

  12. peta s says:

    Thanks Toni, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, it’s a great pattern.

Leave a Reply

