I hate librarians

And they’re not fans of mine. It might have something to do with the fact that I cannot for the life of me get the books back on time. This mutual dislike has been a constant theme throughout my life. My high school’s librarian particularly hated me, it didn’t help matters when she caught me impersonating her in the common room one lunch hour. All my friends thought my mimicking talents were amazing. She didn’t, it earnt me her wrath all my school years and then my poor younger sister enjoyed it too. But I have the last laugh, I still have three books…. So ha, ha, ha, Mrs Dellar, I win!

 018

2013-08-201

Whoever came up with the brilliant idea of a book parade at school for book week should be shot. I hated it when I was a teacher and I loathe it now that I am a mother. I know it’s the only time the librarian gets to shine but I wish they’d just stay in the darkness of their book cave and forget all about it.

The big fella announced he’s too old to get dressed up for book week, bless him. I know I should lament the fact that he is no longer my little fella but in this instance I celebrate it.

021

Choppy is currently all about hobbits. Everything is Frodo related. He constantly wears a curtain ring on a piece of wool around his neck and one of the capes I made for his birthday party. No prizes for guessing what he chose to be. I whipped him up a heavily modified little vest from Burda 9990 (technically a pattern bust) and for the trousers I cut off and hemmed a pair of After School pants that were too short for him. Cheap pair of shoes covered in fur for hairy hobbit feet and he’s done…Yay!

019

Missy? Ah Missy. The decisions that had to be made. I suggested Pippi Longstocking, she looked at me as if I was someone she didn’t recognise. Lola? Are you kidding? Her thought was a panda from a school reader that she has read to me a gazillion times. Goes a little something like this, “I am a panda, I eat leaves. I am a koala, I eat leaves. I am a caterpillar”….you get the picture.
Roald Dahl: Fantastic Mr Fox
After much discussion and searching through bookshelves, she decided upon Roald Dahl’s Fantastic Mr Fox. Great, I think. I’ll make a mask and a tail, dress her in reddy brown and Bob’s your uncle. “But Mum, if I just wear a mask everyone will see my hair and it’s Fantastic MISTER Fox and I have long hair and also, foxes don’t have blonde hair.” Oh.

God bless the person who came up with Pinterest.  We had a bit of a search and this came up.   Missy loved it, (it would cover her hair after all) and I thought it didn’t look too difficult. MIP’s Uptown Girl immediately sprang to mind.  And all in all it wasn’t too difficult except for the freaking ears. It went from kangaroo, to bear, to koala then to kinda like a fox. Who knew ears maketh the animal?

006

Teamed with some matching After School pants. Voila, Fantastic Mr Fox. Course its not as nice as the one on Pinterest but isn’t that the whole point of Pinterest??

004

I know some people love making costumes. To these people I say, have you thought about seeing a doctor? I think there may be something wrong with you. And to the librarians, get back in your book cave, you losers. I’ll get those books back to you when I’m good and ready.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I hate librarians

  1. Justine says:

    Lol! Despite your loathing your costumes are fabulous!
    (Ahem….we boycotted our parade today – I picked the kids up before it started!)

  2. peta s says:

    Damn it! Why didn’t I think of that?

  3. I love libraries and bookshops and I’ve been known to say I’m a librarian when people ask “so, what do you do” just to avoid talking about my real job! Book week is the kind of thing I know I’ll get excited about when my kids are school age, oh, and I like making costumes! (shoot me now, to save the eager mum embarrassment later huh)
    You did a great job despite yourself!

    • Ha! I’m a vet too and have been known to totally do the same thing. It is the 30 minute explanations from total strangers on why they should have and didn’t go to vet school that I loathe….

      And, your costumes rock!

  4. peta s says:

    See that’s because you have an imagination and make awesome Evil Kinevil attire, sadly I am not that imaginative.
    I love books and libraries just not librarians. the feeling can be extended to video store owners, cause I’m not too crash hot at those either. Thanks God for the invention of apple tv.

    • Video store staff have always been a bit nerdy, geeky, can’t-get-a-date types and now they seem even more tragic cause even they know you can download the movie and not have to set foot in their smelly shopfronts. I almost feel sorry for them….
      I’d probably feel differently about costumes too if I had to work to a deadline like book week or Halloween.
      I still say you did really well here!

  5. Toni Coward says:

    WOWZERS – You went all out!!! I’m not into sewing costumes either…waste of my precious sewing time! Your kids are lucky, they look amazing! The jacket is definitley wearable again so maybe not a total waste of sewing time, it looks amazing!!!!!!!!!!

    • peta s says:

      I think that’s what irks me the most, the waste of sewing time. She loves it so I guess I should climb off my box. Love, love, love the Uptown Girl pattern.

  6. Cindy says:

    I am not the costume making kind of person either. Halloween fills me with dread and I do my best to pass costume making responsibilities on to my mom.;) Not that I don’t appreciate a clever costume…I do! I just don’t want to be the one making it. Kind of like all those fancy birthday parties.

    Love the costumes! Especially the fox one. I wonder which kid I can con into being a fox for Halloween? Hmmm….

  7. Haha! I can’t stop laughing! I currently owe the library $65 and get hate emails on a daily basis for the books my kids have lost over the summer! We love to read here too, but the hassle of the whole library thing is exhausting!

    I just pinned that jacket. G would totally wear this on a daily basis! Good job on both kids in spite of the dislike.

  8. peta s says:

    I got a $500 from a video library once. We had moved into a rental property while we built a new house and I didn’t unpack everything including their 3 dvds. The build was only suppose to take 6 months but took 18 instead. Whoopsie. Got them to cut it down to $200 but that was the last time I frequented a video library.

  9. Sarah says:

    I feel the same way about Halloween costumes!

  10. Brittney says:

    These are just both so amazing! I like your fox better than the pinned one;)

    I am SO bad at returning things! Gah! And the worst part is the library is only like 2 minutes from me and I have to drive by it to get in to town, ha! Luckily here they stop your fine at $5 then it goes to “lost” and you have to pay the full price of the book. Oh, I would be in so much trouble if they didn’t!!

  11. peta s says:

    Love you Brittney.
    It is so good to hear that I am not the only one who has trouble with the library. When I pass the library next time I’ll walk tall rather than skulking past and sticking my tongue out.

  12. Katy says:

    I don’t think sewing and returning books go well together. I would rather get my current project done than skulk down to the library and get a withering look from the librarian for having late fines. I have checked online and know that I have a £6 fine from last year. Too scared to go in and check anything else out now.

    Your outfit is just incredible. You are the best mum!

  13. Ana Sofia says:

    Not commenting on libraries (just because we don’t have that system here. My kids can go to the school library but books can’t leave the building – at least we have no issues with returning the books, right?), but these outfits are amazing!!
    I love to sew, but there’s no way I could sew costumes like that – my kids would wear them for 3 hours at the most (and I’m been nice) and that can’t really justify my sewing time (and notions, fabric, etc.).
    I would definitely skip the book parade 🙂

  14. I am not allowed to check things out from the library any more according to my husband ;o( He has also condemned me from ever going within a 10 foot radius of a RedBox. On the other hand my best friend is a Librarian… so I can recognize the fault in me and not pass the blame onto that whole occupation ;op I do however LOVE halloween, but I am struggling to come up with the perfect costumes… book parade is something I look forward to. ;op

  15. Pingback: Fastest Year of My Life… | etcetera or whatever

Leave a Reply

