Seemed like a great idea…

004-001

Ever do that? Have a momentary lapse of reason where you think, yeah that’ll be great, I’ll do that. Like making 10 Hobbit capes for someone’s upcoming birthday party. How did I think that would be a good thing? You don’t think it would be a good thing. You’re a smart person. You’re shaking your head and are thinking that’s a bad thing.

After taking an eternity to make one using the cape from Little Things to Sew by Liesl Gibson, I messed around with the pattern. I made the back and the back side pattern pieces into one piece and did the same for the front and front side pieces. I got rid of the arm holes and redrafted the hood to have only two pieces instead of three, (need to cut down on those seams, people). Now I can get 2 of those babies out in an hour.

Yeah they don’t fall as nicely and there are no arm holes but they’re for Hobbits. And Hobbits aren’t real.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Seemed like a great idea…

  1. Nicole says:

    I hope you got the e-wine and e-cheese I sent you.
    (And the packet of e-panadol)

    • peta s says:

      How else do you think I got through it? Just freaking realised that someone is bringing their younger sibling…. I can’t face another.

      • lattemama says:

        Oh no – a sibling? Have them be a stay-home-hobbit. They didn’t need capes if they didn’t go on the adventure.

        You are amazing! Can’t wait to see pics from the party.

  2. Deb says:

    Hilarious post Peta. I’m sure your efforts will make the party awesome … for real!

  3. Brittney says:

    Amazing Mum right here. I bet they will make the party so great.

  4. peta s says:

    They’d better make the party great.

Leave a Reply

