Gift Giving

It’s birthday season here. Not a weekend goes by without someone heading off to a birthday party. It’s crazy. There are currently 4 invitations on our fridge and I just chucked out another 6 that have been and gone. For some absurd reason I thought it would be grand to make some handmade goodness. Insane.

You’re never sure if a handmade gift will be appreciated or thought of as a tad naff. But I figured nothing ventured, nothing gained.

Seeing as I have a to do list as long as my arm, there are a few criteria that have to be met when I’m making a gift for a little person.

  • Needs to be quick to make
  • No zips
  • Max 2 buttons (preferably none)
  • The pattern needs to already be traced off or printed out.

(That’s right my generosity does not extend to zips, no way, no how)

001Last year I made a heap of Make it Perfect Slumber Party PJs for birthday presents. No buttons, no zips, takes a mere metre of fabric and less time than driving to the shop, finding a car park, dodging the man trying to sell you face cream and hunting for a present.  All boxes ticked.

007

This year I decided on Hula Hoop Skirts from Oliver and S for the little girls. Seriously fast, no buttons or zips and great for twirling. Teamed with a couple of matching button hair elastics and Bob’s your uncle. Way better than another toy, or at least I think so.

042

After making 5 in quick succession I was a little Hula-ed out and made two MIP Uptown girl jackets (meets the criteria even with buttons). One for Missy’s bestie and another for a dear friend’s one year old baby.

Just finished a Class Picnic blouse for another friend of Missy’s and am about to start some PJs for twin boys, I haven’t even thought about the other 3. A trip to the shops is looking more and more appealing.

I’m happy to report each gift has been very well received by little poppet and their mum. Yay me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gift Giving

  1. Nicole says:

    You are kind and your sewing is perfect.
    Who wouldn’t want a gift that lovely?

Leave a Reply

